What does it mean when sunglasses are polarized?

With polarized sunglasses, the lens filter creates vertical openings for light. This means that only light rays that approach your eyes vertically can fit through those openings. The lenses will block out horizontal light waves bouncing off a smooth pond or a shiny car hood, for instance.