Is philo dough the same as puff pastry?

No. Philo pastry are very very thin fine sheets of pastry, typically layered together with brushed, melted butter. It does not rise when you bake it. Puff pastry is thicker and has more butter. When cooked at high temperatures, it puffs or doubles in height.