Is wi fi and internet the same thing?

Contrary to popular belief, WiFi and Internet are not the same thing. Local communication between devices (like an iPad and a printer) can occur over a WiFi signal with no connection to the internet. This is sometimes referred to as a Local Area Network (LAN).