How many diamonds are in a super bowl ring?

Each year's design is different. The 1972 Miami Dolphins, the only team to go undefeated in NFL history, have 17 diamonds on their Super Bowl winning rings, for their 17 wins that season. The 2019 Patriots rings are 10-karat gold, with 400 diamonds and 40 sapphires.