Why do birds follow you around?

The likely reason birds would follow a person is because they are looking for food. Many birds are fairly intelligent and can learn to associate humans with food if they have been fed before.

---

New research demonstrates for the first time that birds also respond to a human's gaze. In humans, the eyes are said to be the 'window to the soul', conveying much about a person's emotions and intentions. New research demonstrates for the first time that birds also respond to a human's gaze.