How hot is the equator?

The equator is an imaginary line around the center of the earth with a latitude of 0°. The position of the equator in relation to the sun doesn't change so there is little temperature change. The average temperature is about 88°F (31 °C) in the afternoon and 73°F (23°C) around sunrise.