What was the war of eighteen twelve over?

The causes of the War of 1812 was British violations of U.S. maritime rights. were a series of economic sanctions taken by the British and French against the US as part of the Napoleonic Wars and American outrage at the British impressment practice, especially after the Chesapeake incident of 1807.