What is the mysterious benedict?

The Mysterious Benedict Society is a quartet of children's books by Trenton Lee Stewart chronicling the adventures of four children, initially gathered together by the eccentric Mr. Benedict. It was made into an American mystery adventure television series in 2021 based on the children's books.