What did women wear in the nineteen twenties?

During previous decades, many layers were worn; however, during the 1920s, minimal layers became the new standard. For girls, clothing became looser and shorter. Dresses and skirts were now knee length and loose fitting. Shoes were also made out of canvas, making them lighter and easier to wear.