How many countries are there in the world?

There are 195 countries in the world. The United Nations (UN) recognizes 195 sovereign countries. 193 of these countries are members of the United Nations, and two - the Holy See and the State of Palestine - are simply observer states. By some definitions, there are 197 countries in the world.