What's the n. b. a. ten day contract?

As of today, January 5, NBA teams can begin signing free agents to standard 10-day contracts without requiring a hardship exception to do so. A 10-day contract allows a team to add a player to its roster for either 10 days or three games (whichever occurs later) without any commitment beyond that.