When can babies have apples?

By 18 months to age 2, your baby may be able to handle thin slices of crunchier fruits and veggies, such as apples and cucumbers. Your child is ready for this step once he can chew food well, has his first set of molars and is able to manage taking “just right” sized bites of food.