What is the sixth smallest u. s. state?

Vermont is the sixth smallest state by total area (24,923 km2) but the eighth smallest by land area, covering 23,957 km2 of land. Its water area is about 989 km2, the 46th largest state by water area.

---

Vermont is the sixth smallest state.