How many tuskegee airmen were there?

992 pilots were trained in Tuskegee from 1941–1946. 355 of these were deployed overseas. 84 lost their lives. This toll included 68 pilots killed in action or accidents, 12 killed in training or non-combat missions and 32 who were captured as prisoners of war.