What's a fortieth?

Fortieth can describe the number forty in a sequence such as a fortieth birthday or the fortieth page in a book. It can also describe the size of something that is forty times smaller than something else, such as a fortieth of a liter or a budget that was cut to a fortieth of its original amount.