At what age do chicken start laying eggs?

a pullet 9a young chicken will start laying eggs at 20 -24 weeks old

---

On average, chickens start laying eggs at about 6 months of age. This is dependent on the breed with larger, heavier birds like Wyandottes, Plymouth Rocks and Orpingtons laying on the later side whereas lighter, smaller breeds like Leghorns, Stars, and Australorps laying eggs sooner than 6 months.

---

On average a chicken lays it's first egg at about 5 to 6 months of age.