Who broke the sound barrier in a free fall?

Felix Baumgartner became the first person to shatter the sound barrier in free fall with a death-defying leap from the edge of space October 14 2012 when he rode a helium balloon to the top of the stratosphere, then jumped from a capsule and accelerated to 833.9 mph during his dramatic dive.