What is a tectonic plate?

A tectonic plate (also called lithospheric plate) is a massive, irregularly shaped slab of solid rock, generally composed of both continental and oceanic lithosphere. These plates lie beneath the earth's surface and can shift around on top of the liquid mantle layer of the planet.