How long does it take to gain muscle?

Adult male athletes can gain 18-20 pounds of muscle over the course of a year with targeted resistance training, meal planning, and recovery. A more realistic goal for an adult male is to gain one pound of muscle every 3 to 4 weeks with resistance training, meal planning and recovery periods.