Did one flew over the cuckoo's nest win an academy award?

Yes. "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest" won five Academy Awards. They were for: Best Picture; Best Director; Best Actor; Best Actress; and Best Screenplay -- Adapted from Other Material.