What happened to the u. s. s. liberty in nineteen sixty seven?

During the Six-Day War, on 8 June 1967, the USS Liberty, a Navy technical research ship, was attacked by Israeli Air Force jet fighter aircraft and Israeli Navy motor torpedo boats.