Why is martha's vineyard called martha's vineyard?

South of Cape Cod, the Wampanoag island of 96 sq. miles, was known as Noepe. A smaller island to the south was named Martha's Island by English explorer Bartholomew Gosnold, in 1602. The name was transferred to the larger island. It was named for his daughter or mother in law, both named Martha.