Why do women wear white wedding dresses?

The trend is believed to have originated with Queen Victoria, who wore a white lace and silk-satin gown when she married Prince Albert in 1840. The dress outraged English aristocrats as white was traditionally the color of mourning. In later years, it became fashionable for brides to wear white.