Does ammonia kill germs?

Although it may be a more eco-friendly cleaning solution than chemical-based products, ammonia isn't registered as a disinfectant by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Although ammonia might kill salmonella and E. coli, it's not an effective defense against dangerous staphylococcus bacteria.