What are the fire tokens for in survivor?

While the advantages found on the Edge of Extinction have no value for its inhabitants, Fire Tokens earned from selling advantages can be used to purchase food, comfort items, and a maximum of three advantages for an upcoming re-entry duel for a better chance to get back in the game.