Can bird seed go bad?

Many seeds have high oil content, and when that oil goes bad it will generate a sharp, rancid smell. Moldy and musty odors can indicate spoiled birdseed. While it may not show blatant signs of being spoiled, seed that is dull, dusty or dried out is less healthy for the birds & should be discarded