What is the difference between golden potatoes and white potatoes?

White potatoes are considered all-purpose as they are slightly creamy, slightly dense, and are subtly sweet in flavor. These potatoes hold their shape well after cooking and are a popular choice for salads and for grilling. Golden potatoes are slightly waxy in texture, velvety, and moist.