What is the proper term for gypsy?

(dʒɪpsi ) also Gipsy. Word forms: Gypsies. countable noun. A Gypsy is a member of a race of people who travel from place to place, usually in caravans, rather than living in one place. Some Gypsies object to this name, and prefer to be called Romany.