Who created the eraser?

Though Joseph Priestly may have discovered rubber's erasing properties, it's British engineer Edward Nairne who is generally credited with developing and marketing the first rubber eraser in Europe. The first patent on an pencil & eraser in the United States was by Joseph Reckendorfer on 03/30/1858.