What came before the chicken or the egg?

A bird nearly identical to the modern chicken laid a fertilized egg that had DNA identical to the modern chicken (due to mutations in the ovum, the sperm, or the zygote). As put by Neil deGrasse Tyson: "Which came first: the chicken or the egg? The egg—laid by a bird that was not a chicken."

---

Chickens only come from eggs. Eggs come from many different animals. Therefore the egg must have come before the chicken.