What is the origin of the word beef eater?

A beefeater is a member of the Yeoman Warders, a ceremonial guard which oversees the Tower of London. Some historians believe that the original beefeaters may have been partially paid in meats, while others suggest that they had the privilege of eating beef from the Royal Kitchens.