What was the jamestown massacre?

The “Jonestown Massacre” occurred on November 18, 1978, when more than 900 members of an American cult called the Peoples Temple died in a mass suicide-murder under the direction of their leader Jim Jones (1931-78). Jones ordered his followers to drink poison-laced punch while armed guards stood by