Does the napkin go on the left or the right?

In Formal Place Setting, the napkin is folded, or put in a napkin ring, & placed either to the LEFT of the forks, or on the center of the dinner plate. Sometimes, when folded, the napkin is placed underneath the forks. Thusly, napkins & forks place to the left hand side, & knives to the right.