What's the difference between a sequoia and a redwood?

The giant Sequoia (Sequoiadendron giganteum), is the most massive tree in the world, with the largest trunk. The California coast Redwood (Sequoia sempervirens) usually grow taller than sequoias. Both grow in narrow conditions in the Sierra Nevada mountains of California, and the Pacific Coast.