What does curse of vanishing do in minecraft?

The Curse of Vanishing enchantment lets you curse an item in the game. When an item is cursed with this enchantment, the cursed item will disappear when a player dies in the game instead of being dropped after the player dies.

---

When the player dies while an item enchanted with Curse of Vanishing is in their inventory, it does not drop on the ground, but is removed from the world entirely. The item does not vanish if it is dropped manually, or if it is placed in a chest before death.