How many times did thomas edison fail to make the light bulb?

Edison and his team of researchers tested more than 3,000 designs for light bulbs, between 1878 & 1880. They then tested more than 6,000 types of filaments to find the one that would burn the longest. They might be counted as failures, but he saw them as steps on the pathway to success.