What does what does apple cider mean?

In the US and Canada, apple cider is an unfiltered, unsweetened apple juice. In the rest of the world, apple cider, or simply cider, refers to an alcoholic version produced from fermented apple juice. That's called "hard cider" in the US and Canada.