What is the origin of chucky?

Chucky, the evil star of the “Child’s Play” slasher movie series, was a serial killer who used voodoo to transfer his soul into a Good Guy doll.

---

Chucky was based off a real life doll thought to be haunted named Robert. The doll was gift to a boy named Robert by his family’s maid. The maid was believed to have practice voodoo and cursed the doll.