What does it mean to braise chicken?

To braise anything, meat or vegetable, means to bake it in enough liquid to keep it moist as it bakes. Braising a whole chicken could be done by putting it in a covered baking dish with about an inch of broth or other liquid, so that as it bakes, it also steams and stays moist instead of drying out.