What happened at omaha beach?

On what is known as D-Day, June 6, 1944, Allied forces started the invasion of German-occupied France. There were four code-named beach areas, Omaha, Gold, Juno and Sword. American forces went ashore on the ones designated Omaha and Utah. Other allied units attacked Juno and Sword.