How many different kinds of rocks are there in the world?

There is no agreed number of specific types of rock. Any unique combination of distinguishing characteristics can describe a rock type. Additionally different classification systems exist for each major type of rock. There are 3 major types of rock, igneous rock, metamorphic rock, & sedimentary rock