What happens if you swallow vaseline?

Vaseline, or petroleum jelly, is minimally toxic. It does not harm if consumed in small quantities. If you swallowed Vaseline, take a few sips of water and try vomiting. And this substance also act as a laxative and can cause soft or loose stools.