What city had the first subway system in the united states?

In 1897, Boston opened the first subway system in North America, known as the Tremont Street subway. Boston's Tremont Street Subway was the first subway tunnel in North America in 1897, according to the Massachusetts Bay Transit Authority (MBTA).