Who is the original singer of hallelujah?

Hallelujah is a song written by Canadian singer Leonard Cohen, originally released on his album Various Positions in 1984. Achieving little initial success, the song found greater popular acclaim through a recording by John Cale, which inspired a recording by Jeff Buckley.