What is a spotted lantern fly?

The spotted lanternfly is a planthopper that is indigenous to China, India, and Vietnam. Although it has two pairs of wings, it jumps more than it flies. Its host plants include grapes, stone fruits, and Malus species, though its preferred host is Ailanthus altissima.