Is a gate a word?

Agate is a word: 1 : a fine-grained variegated chalcedony having its colors arranged in stripes, blended in clouds, or showing mosslike forms. 2 : something made of or fitted with agate: such as. a : a drawplate used by gold-wire drawers. b : a playing marble of agate.