Who wrote the cisco kid?

The well-known writer O. Henry created the character of the Cisco Kid in 1907. He was introduced in the periodical Everybody's Magazine in a story entitled "The Caballero's Way." In that first appearance, the Cisco Kid was a vicious villain, but later versions made him into a Robin-Hood type hero.