How is dust made?

There's a common misconception that it's mostly human skin. It's not: Two thirds of the dust in your house comes from outside, as dirt tracked in on your feet, and airborne particles like pollen and soot. The rest is mostly carpet fluff, clothes fibres and pet hair.