What u. s. city had the first public transportation system?

The first public transportation system in the United States was set up in Boston in the early 17th century, and consisted of horse carts and ferries. Decades later a similar ferry system was set up in the city of Philadelphia to carry passengers to nearby Camden, New Jersey.