What's the difference between a subsidized and a unsubsidized loan?

To subsidize means to support (an organization or activity) financially. Subsidized Loans do not accrue interest while you are in school at least half-time or during deferment periods. Unsubsidized Loans are loans for both undergraduate and graduate students that are not based on financial need.